fundregtracker.
Last verified 2026-10-12

Providence Equity — funds, providers and filings

Managers: all tracked managers · fund search & entity graph · private market performance

Assets
US-SEC-reported private funds — not a firm-wide AUM figure$26.8bn gross · 58 funds Form ADV, through 2024
Activity sources: this site's news archive (tracked since July 2026) · the manager's own newsroom · the worldwide entity register (registration dates as the register records them).
A profile built from public sources — SEC Form ADV (filings through 2024), the worldwide entity register, the manager's own reports and this site's own news coverage. Figures carry each source's own dates · official site.

The US-reported view

The sections below draw on US regulatory filings — SEC Form ADV and Form D — and on US investors' own disclosures. They set out Providence Equity's US-reported slice: the funds, service providers, domiciles and activity visible in US filings, not its worldwide business.

1. US-SEC private funds

This page reports $26.8bn of gross asset value across 58 private funds that Providence Equity reports on SEC Form ADV, filings through 2024. It does not report firm-wide assets under management, a different measure on a different basis.

Worldwide, 7 registered fund vehicles are on file under its management companies, on the worldwide entity register (read 2026-10-05) — these are legal fund entities, not the share classes or products a manager markets.

Registered fund vehicles worldwide (as at 2026-10-05)7
Management entities on file (US filings · worldwide register)2 · 2
Principal offices on fileProvidence, United States
The gross asset value above is the SEC-reported private funds only, as filed — a narrower, verifiable subset of a manager's firm-wide AUM, which is stated on its own basis and can include separate accounts, committed-but-uncalled capital and vehicles outside US SEC reporting. The two are different measures and will not match.

2. Service providers

EY audits 58 of the 58 Providence Equity funds that name an auditor on Form ADV Schedule D, filings through 2024 — more than any other firm. Standish administers 31 of the 35 that name an administrator, on the same filings. Relationships the filings attribute to Providence Equity's own group are part of its structure, not third-party appointments, and are left out of these counts.

Across the funds that disclose each role on Schedule D — the count is funds naming that provider, of funds disclosing the role at all:

Fund administratorStandish (31 of 35); Citco (4 of 35)
AuditorEY (58 of 58)
CustodianBank of America (37 of 56); Citi (23 of 56); Wells Fargo (3 of 56) — and 5 more
Prime brokerJ.P. Morgan (2 of 3); Barclays (1 of 3); Credit Suisse (1 of 3)
Marketer / placementJ.P. Morgan (5 of 6); Alpine Capital Advisors Spa (2 of 6); Diamond Dragon Advisors Limited (2 of 6) — and 6 more
Source: SEC Form ADV Schedule D 7.B.(1), filings through 2024. The top three per role are shown; the full lists are available on request: [email protected]. Provider names are rolled up to their group brand where the rollup is unambiguous; otherwise they appear as filed.

3. Fund domiciles

30 of Providence Equity's 58 SEC-reported private funds are domiciled in Delaware, its largest single domicile on Form ADV, filings through 2024. Cayman Islands is next, and the bars below give the rest in order.

Delaware30
Cayman Islands22
Luxembourg5
United Kingdom1

4. Fund filing activity

The 2 most recent of the 2 US private-fund filings for this manager's funds. The filings state no amount sold, as is common on Form D.

IssuerTypeAmount sold (as filed)Filing yearSource
Providence Equity Partners (Constellation) L.P.Private Equity Fundnot stated2026filing
Providence Equity Partners (Constellation-A) L.P.Private Equity Fundnot stated2026filing
Source: SEC EDGAR Form D (public filings; amounts are cumulative "sold to date" figures as filed, not fundraise announcements).

5. Fund performance

Every figure here is a disclosing pension plan's own, on that plan's own reporting date. Nothing is blended into a manager-level return, because no plan published one.

Per-fund net IRR, multiple and DPI as disclosed by the pension plans invested in the funds — the LPs' own numbers, on their own dates, not the manager's. One row per plan disclosure. Where two plans hold the same fund and report different numbers, both rows show, with their dates:

FundPlanNet IRRMultipleDPIReported as atSource
Providence Equity Partners IX L.P.Washington WSIB16.6%1.20.2831 December 2025WSIB private equity IRR report
Providence Equity Partners VIII, L.P.Washington WSIB13.3%1.60.5531 December 2025WSIB private equity IRR report
Providence Equity Partners VII, L.P.Oregon OPERF21.5%1.911.9131 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio
Providence Equity Partners VII, L.P.Washington WSIB20.7%2.01.8831 December 2025WSIB private equity IRR report
Providence Equity Partners VI, L.P.CalSTRS5.9%1.491.4930 June 2025CalSTRS private equity performance report
Providence Equity Partners VI, L.P.Oregon OPERF4.6%1.271.2831 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio
Providence Equity Partners VI, L.P.Washington WSIB5.9%1.41.3631 December 2025WSIB private equity IRR report
Providence Equity Partners V, L.P.CalSTRS3.0%1.241.2430 June 2025CalSTRS private equity performance report
Providence Equity Partners V, L.P.Oregon OPERF3.0%1.171.1731 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio
Providence Equity Partners IVOregon OPERF23.9%1.911.9131 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio
Providence Equity Partners IIIOregon OPERF15.8%1.551.5531 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio
Providence Equity PartnersOregon OPERF78.5%2.782.7831 March 2026Oregon Treasury OPERF private equity portfolio

Young vintages sit in the J-curve: an early negative IRR mostly reflects fees drawn before value is realised, and is not a verdict on the fund.

6. Known LP investors, from their own disclosures

Oregon OPERF (6), Washington WSIB (4), CalSTRS (2) — the count is this manager's funds appearing in that plan's disclosure.

Source: each pension plan's own published performance disclosure, as compiled on this site (per-plan as-at dates shown in the table). Net IRR and multiple are taken exactly as each plan reported them; DPI is distributions ÷ contributions from the plan's own cash-flow columns. Coverage is limited to the pension plans this site follows — a fund without such an investor does not appear here, and that absence says nothing about the fund.

7. Management entities

Providence Equity files Form ADV through 2 management entities; the largest is Providence Equity Partners L.L.C., CRD 155678 of PROVIDENCE, with 55 of the 58 funds on this page. Every figure above rolls those filers up into one business. The table below traces each of them back to the entity that filed it, so a number can be checked against its own record rather than taken on trust.

US management entities on file (2 entities — together the 58 funds above)
EntitySEC CRDCity Funds of the 58
Providence Equity Partners L.L.C.CRD 155678PROVIDENCE55
Providence Equity Capital Markets L.L.C.CRD 155669PROVIDENCE3
Management entities on the worldwide register (2 entities — together the 7 registered vehicles)
EntityRegister IDFund vehicles
Providence Equity Partners L.L.C.ZL51JJATKJP127GF12156
Providence Equity Partners (Docente) S.C.Sp.254900HEWGKY7V7YSA951

Questions this page answers

What is Providence Equity's AUM?

This page reports $26.8bn of gross asset value across 58 private funds on SEC Form ADV, filings through 2024. It does not report firm-wide assets under management, a different measure on a different basis.

Who audits Providence Equity's funds?

EY is named on 58 of the 58 US private funds whose filing discloses an auditor on Form ADV Schedule D (of Providence Equity's 58 filed with the SEC), filings through 2024.

Who administers Providence Equity's funds?

Standish is named on 31 of the 35 US private funds whose filing discloses an administrator on Form ADV Schedule D (of Providence Equity's 58 filed with the SEC), filings through 2024. Citco appears on 4 of the same filings.

How have Providence Equity's funds performed?

Providence Equity Partners returned a net IRR of 78.5% on a 2.78 multiple, as Oregon OPERF reported it for 31 March 2026. Providence Equity Partners III returned a net IRR of 15.8% on a 1.55 multiple, as Oregon OPERF reported it for 31 March 2026.

Who invests in Providence Equity's funds?

Oregon OPERF (6 funds), Washington WSIB (4 funds) and CalSTRS (2 funds) name Providence Equity funds in their published disclosures. Coverage is limited to the plans this site follows, and a plan's absence says nothing about whether it invests.

How many funds does Providence Equity run?

Providence Equity has 7 registered fund vehicles on the worldwide entity register — legal fund entities, not the share classes or products a manager markets. Separately, it reports 58 private funds to the US SEC (Form ADV, through 2024) — a different register, counted on a different basis.

Where are Providence Equity's funds domiciled?

30 of the 58 funds are domiciled in Delaware, its largest single domicile on Form ADV, filings through 2024, followed by Cayman Islands with 22.

Where does Providence Equity file from?

Providence Equity Partners L.L.C., CRD 155678, its largest Form ADV filer, gives its office as PROVIDENCE, United States. The other filers' offices are in the entity table on this page.

Is Providence Equity registered with the SEC?

Yes. Its filings run through 2 management entities, the largest being Providence Equity Partners L.L.C., CRD 155678, with 55 of the 58 funds here.

Sources: SEC Form ADV (public filings; figures as filed, through 2024) · global entity register (GLEIF, read 2026-10-05) · this site's news archive. Corrections: how to request one. The full data behind any table on this page is available on request: [email protected].

See also: all tracked managers · fund search & entity graph.

↑ Top