Fund AI supplier landscape — workflows, controls and procurement questions
Fund AI is not one market. A document-ingest product, a portfolio-intelligence workspace and an investor-reporting assistant solve different problems and require different data, controls and buyers. This comparison records what four suppliers claim on their own published pages; it does not treat a feature page as evidence of independent accuracy, production scale or suitability.
Use this alongside the Fund AI use-case library: the library starts with the job; this page starts with the supplier and asks where the control boundary sits. Last verified 2026-09-01. Source dates below are the vendors' published dates where stated; where a vendor page gives no publication date, that gap is explicit rather than replaced with this page's verification date.
This is not one market
- Private-market document intake and extraction: turning unstructured documents into a usable, reviewable data set.
- Portfolio intelligence: assembling portfolio information for monitoring and decision workflows.
- Investor, fund and operational workflow: using an existing fund-operations system to assist drafting, retrieval or workflow handling.
- Private-equity investment workflow: using portfolio or investment context to support analysis and follow-up.
The categories overlap in procurement meetings but not necessarily in implementation. A buyer should first decide whether the bottleneck is source-document quality, a controlled workflow, portfolio data, or an approved knowledge base. That is an independent conclusion from the comparison structure, not a claim about any supplier's model quality.
Supplier comparison
| Supplier / official evidence | Product / workflow | Main user | Data prerequisite | AI job | Deterministic / human control boundary | Deployment / availability evidence | Operational edge | Unanswered procurement questions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| FactSet Cobalt AI Doc Ingest FactSet release, 2026-02-04 | Vendor-claimed: document ingest for private-market documents in Cobalt. | Vendor-claimed: private-market investment professionals using Cobalt. | Documents supplied to the Cobalt workflow; mapping, retention and entitlement controls are not described in the release. | Vendor-claimed: extracting and structuring information from documents. | Document-derived fields need deterministic validation and a named reviewer before they drive a record, calculation or decision. This is an independent control conclusion. | The 2026-02-04 release described a beta and planned later availability. It is not evidence of current general availability. | Potentially connects intake to an established private-markets platform; this is a workflow fit question, not an independent performance finding. | Current availability; supported document types and languages; correction/audit trail; retention; access controls; pricing; implementation ownership. |
| Allvue Portfolio Intelligence Allvue product page, publication date not stated | Vendor-claimed: Portfolio Intelligence / Deal Analytics capabilities. | Vendor-claimed: qualifying Credit Front Office clients in a beta launch program. | Portfolio, deal and workflow data connected to the platform; the public page does not specify data-quality thresholds. | Vendor-claimed: intelligence and workflow support over portfolio information. | Configured calculations, approvals and exceptions remain deterministic controls; a human owns credit, valuation, covenant and reporting decisions. Independent control conclusion. | Vendor-claimed: Portfolio Intelligence / Deal Analytics is available to qualifying Credit Front Office clients in a beta launch program. The page gives no publication date; current terms remain to verify. | Potentially places analysis near portfolio-operating data; confirm which objects, integrations and controls are actually included. | Exact AI functions; model/data boundaries; beta eligibility and current terms; availability by module; explainability; audit exports; implementation scope; commercial terms. |
| DynamoAI Dynamo product page, publication date not stated | Vendor-claimed: AI capabilities within Dynamo's fund and investment-management product context. | Vendor-claimed: investment-management and fund-operations users of Dynamo. | Approved Dynamo records, documents and permissions; completeness of those inputs is not established by the public page. | Vendor-claimed: clients can connect their own AI through MCP directly to Dynamo data while retaining permissions and audit trail. | Permissioning, source-of-record updates, investor communications and regulated outputs require deterministic workflow controls and named human approval. Independent control conclusion. | The product page describes DynamoAI but does not provide a publication date or sufficient public evidence of availability by client, region or module. | Potentially keeps assistance within an existing operating environment; verify the actual scope rather than infer it from product branding. | Supported jobs; MCP scope; permission inheritance and audit-trail behaviour; retrieval sources; data isolation; logging; approvals; regional availability; migration effort; pricing. |
| Chronograph ChronoAI Chronograph release, 2024-04-16 | Vendor-claimed: AI capabilities for private-equity investors in Chronograph. | Vendor-claimed: private-equity investors using Chronograph. | Portfolio, manager and investment information available to the Chronograph workflow; source completeness and permissions require buyer validation. | Vendor-claimed: AI-supported capabilities for private-equity investment work. | Investment conclusions, portfolio records and external reporting remain human-accountable; any calculation or threshold should remain deterministic and reviewable. Independent control conclusion. | Vendor-claimed: the 2024-04-16 release said ChronoAI was immediately available to all Chronograph LP clients at that date. It is not current independent proof of functionality, client adoption or accuracy. | Potentially aligns assistance with private-equity investor workflow; validate the exact job, data boundary and review path in a live evaluation. | Current capabilities; evidence provenance; evaluation method; user roles; audit trail; data residency; commercial terms; implementation responsibility. |
Operator evaluation checklist
- Name the one workflow and the accountable owner before comparing features.
- Inventory the source records, permissions, document retention and correction path.
- Mark each output as draft, recommendation, record update, calculation input or external communication.
- Keep rules, calculations, thresholds and approval gates deterministic where they are material.
- Test a representative exception set: missing fields, conflicting versions, restricted records and a required correction.
- Ask for evidence of availability, auditability, implementation ownership and commercial scope before treating an announcement as a product commitment.
What remains unknown
The four official sources establish that their publishers describe these products or capabilities. They do not, on their own, establish comparative accuracy, total cost, current entitlement, implementation time, customer outcomes, regulatory suitability or fit with a particular fund's data estate. No prices, rankings, performance numbers or customer claims are inferred here.
To verify
- FactSet availability — confirm from an updated official FactSet source whether the beta/planned-later status in the 2026-02-04 release has changed.
- Allvue and Dynamo source dates and terms — obtain vendor-published update or release dates, Allvue beta eligibility/current terms, and Dynamo MCP scope, permission inheritance and audit-trail documentation before treating the product wording as time-specific.
- Procurement evidence — obtain official, current documentation for deployment model, regional availability, audit logging, data handling, integrations, support and commercial terms for each evaluated workflow, including whether ChronoAI remains available beyond the 2024-04-16 claim.