CRS and FATCA reporting for investment funds
A fund managed by a Financial Institution is usually a CRS and FATCA Investment Entity (DITC CRS Guidelines). It reports its reportable investors to its own tax authority, and from 2026 the return states whether each holds a valid self-certification (Cayman regulation 19).
- Who reports
- The fund itself, as the Reporting Financial Institution, even when its administrator files.Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q12
- What's reported
- Holder identity, residences and TINs, year-end value and gross payments on each reportable account.Revenue Jersey notes, 13
- Classify first
- Financial Institution, Active NFE or Passive NFE; a Passive NFE brings its controlling persons into the return.Revenue Jersey notes, 4.6
- Self-certification
- Required for new accounts and checked against the KYC file; Jersey requires validation before opening.Revenue Jersey notes, 14.1
- Missing TIN
- Not reported where the jurisdiction issues none; for preexisting accounts, yearly reasonable efforts, per Guernsey's draft notes.Guernsey draft notes, 11.1
- Nil returns
- Required in Luxembourg, Ireland and Cayman, and per Guernsey's draft notes; not required in Jersey.DITC Guidelines
- Deadlines
- Set by each domicile; see the deadline table.CRS and FATCA deadlines
- Next change: CRS 2.0
- New data fields and rules from 1 January 2026, first reported for calendar year 2026.DITC Amended CRS Quick Guide
How CRS and FATCA fit together
Funds commonly qualify as Investment Entities under CRS and FATCA. Whether a fund reports, and what, turns on its classification, any exemption and its reportable accounts (DITC Guidelines). The return is built from the investor file behind it. That file is where the errors sit. An entity investor is classified on a guess, a self-certification is never tested against the KYC pack, or a nil return is never filed.
Each of those gaps now carries a price. In Ireland, an unexcused failure to file, or an incorrect return, costs €19,045, plus €2,535 a day while a return stays outstanding (Revenue, Part 38 notes). Guernsey's draft practice sets negligence penalties at 0.5% of each affected account balance (Guernsey draft notes). And from the 2026 reporting year, the return must state for each Reportable Person whether a valid self-certification has been provided (Cayman regulation 19).
This page works through the decisions in the order a fund meets them, for Luxembourg, Ireland, Jersey, Guernsey and the Cayman Islands. Each position links to the authority that states it. Filing dates are not repeated here: they sit on CRS and FATCA reporting deadlines by jurisdiction, and the wider calendar sits on fund tax-status reporting deadlines.
Is your fund a Financial Institution under CRS and FATCA?
Usually yes. Under Section VIII(A)(6) of the CRS, a fund is an Investment Entity if it runs portfolio management as a business for customers. It also qualifies if a Financial Institution manages it and half its gross income comes from financial assets (DITC Guidelines). FATCA reaches the same funds through the Model 1 agreement definition (Model 1A IGA, Article 1(1)(j)).
- Limb (a): the entity itself conducts portfolio management or investing for customers as a business.
- Limb (b): the entity is managed by a Financial Institution, such as its AIFM, and meets the income test.
- Income test: 50% or more of gross income over the three years to 31 December, taken in aggregate (Revenue Jersey notes, 4.5).
- FATCA: Luxembourg treats an entity that qualifies under FATCA as qualifying under CRS too (ACD FAQ, Q2.2).
Detail, edge cases and sources
Usually yes, and the route matters more than the answer. Under Section VIII(A)(6) of the CRS, a fund is an Investment Entity in one of two ways. The first catches an entity that runs portfolio management or similar work as a business for customers. The second catches most funds. It covers an entity managed by another Financial Institution, such as its AIFM, that earns its gross income mainly from investing in financial assets (DITC Guidelines).
"Mainly" has a number. The relevant income must reach at least 50% of gross income over a look-back period. That period is the three years ending 31 December before the test year, or the entity's life if shorter (DITC Guidelines). Revenue Jersey adds two points that settle arguments, and the first is that the test runs on the three years in aggregate, not year by year. And CRS does not look through a holding to the business underneath, so dividends from a property company count as financial-asset income (Jersey notes, 4.5). Revenue Jersey notes that FATCA differs here, since it may allow a look-through to the underlying income.
FATCA reaches the same funds by a shorter road. All five domiciles have Model 1 intergovernmental agreements with the United States (US Treasury, FATCA agreements). The model text covers any entity conducting portfolio management or investing "as a business", or is managed by an entity that does (Model 1A IGA, Article 1(1)(j)). The DITC warns that funds cannot borrow this looser wording for CRS purposes (DITC Guidelines). Luxembourg's tax authority takes the practical view: the two definitions differ, but an entity that qualifies under FATCA also qualifies under CRS (ACD FAQ, Q2.2).
| Situation | Usual CRS outcome | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg UCI, SIF, SICAR or RAIF. | Investment Entity in principle, as are AIFs under the AIFM law, ManCos and AIFMs. | ACD FAQ, Q2.3. |
| Luxembourg RAIF seeking Exempt Collective Investment Vehicle status. | Not available, because only CSSF-supervised funds can elect it. | ACD FAQ, Q2.4. |
| Irish umbrella fund. | Report at umbrella or sub-fund level, never both. | Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q12. |
| Irish fund being wound down. | In most circumstances, stops being a Reporting FI from the date the Central Bank de-authorises it. A sub-fund that reports separately stops when its approval is revoked. | Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q19. |
| Jersey company administered by a regulated trust company business that is itself a Financial Institution and supplies its directors. | Managed by a Financial Institution, so an Investment Entity if the income test is met. | Jersey notes, 4.5. |
| Company buying only registered office, bookkeeping or tax filing services. | Not "managed by" its provider on those services alone. | Jersey notes, 4.5. |
| Luxembourg adviser or manager exempt under the FATCA agreement. | No matching CRS status, so in principle a Reporting FI that files a zero return. | ACD FAQ, Q5.3. |
Two structural points follow. CRS has no sponsoring-entity regime, so each Financial Institution owns its return even when the administrator files it (TDM 38-03-23, Q12). Under a Model 1 agreement, a reporting institution must also meet the applicable registration requirements on the IRS FATCA registration website (Model 1A IGA, Article 4(1)(c)). Registration produces a GIIN, and the IRS publishes registered institutions on its FFI List (IRS FATCA page).
Practical point. The classification is only as good as its evidence. Where a provider concludes the managed-by test is not met, Revenue Jersey expects evidence: service agreements, scope of services and governance arrangements (Jersey notes, 4.5).
How do you classify an entity investor?
Classification decides whether the fund reports the entity or the individuals behind it. A Financial Institution in a participating jurisdiction reports for itself. A managed-by Investment Entity outside one is treated as a Passive NFE (Revenue Jersey notes, 4.6). An entity that meets an Active NFE test is not looked through, and a Passive NFE requires its controlling persons (Revenue Jersey notes, 4.7).
→
→
→
Detail, edge cases and sources
Once the fund knows what it is, it has to classify each investor, and for an entity investor three outcomes matter. A Financial Institution in a participating jurisdiction reports for itself, so the fund does not look through it. An Active NFE is a non-financial entity that meets one of the listed tests, such as the income and asset test. The fund does not look through it, and whether the entity itself is reportable is a separate question of its residence and status. A Passive NFE forces the fund to identify its Controlling Persons, the individuals behind it, and report those who are reportable.
The second limb of the Passive NFE definition decides most feeder cases. A managed-by Investment Entity resident in a non-participating jurisdiction counts as a Passive NFE, not a Financial Institution (Jersey notes, 4.6). A feeder that looks like a fund on its face can therefore pull its controlling persons into your return.
| Investor | CRS classification | What the fund must hold |
|---|---|---|
| Fund of funds in a participating jurisdiction. | Financial Institution. | Entity self-certification, with no look-through. |
| Managed-by Investment Entity in a non-participating jurisdiction. | Passive NFE. | Entity self-certification plus each controlling person, documented. |
| Trading company with under 50% passive income and under 50% passive assets. | Active NFE. | Entity self-certification. |
| Holding company that acquires and holds companies as investments. | Barred from the holding-company Active NFE test, which excludes investment funds and buyout vehicles. | First test whether it is an Investment Entity or other Financial Institution. Only an NFE goes on to the Active or Passive test. |
| New entity with no operating history, investing capital to run a business other than a Financial Institution. | Active NFE for up to 24 months from initial organisation. | Diary the 24-month point and reclassify. |
| Family investment company advised by a self-employed individual. | Not managed by a Financial Institution. | Usually a Passive NFE file with controlling persons. |
The Active NFE criteria in the table come from the CRS definition as Revenue Jersey sets it out (Jersey notes, 4.7). That covers the holding-company exclusion and the 24-month start-up window. The family investment company is Revenue Jersey's own example 3 in section 4.5.
Controlling persons follow the beneficial-owner test in the FATF Recommendations, so the ownership threshold is a local AML number. In Cayman it is at least 10% for a legal person, not 25%. The DITC adds that FATCA's threshold for Passive NFFEs has not changed (DITC Guidelines). The same investor can therefore show different controlling persons under the two regimes.
Practical point. From the 2026 reporting year the return carries the role through which each person controls the entity. Where the Investment Entity is a legal arrangement, it also carries each reportable equity holder's role, such as trustee or settlor (Cayman regulation 19). Transitional relief applies to older accounts, covered below. A controlling-person list without roles will not support the new fields.
Self-certifications: when can you rely on one, and when does "reason to know" end that reliance?
A new account needs a self-certification, checked for reasonableness against the onboarding and KYC file (Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q16). The fund cannot rely on it once its knowledge, including a relationship manager's, would make a reasonably prudent person question the claim (DITC Guidelines). The validation window, and what follows when it closes, differs by domicile.
| Domicile | Validation window | When it closes |
|---|---|---|
| Jersey. | None: validate before opening. | Day-two procedures are not permitted (notes, 14.1). |
| Ireland. | Up to 90 days, only under the OECD day-two process. | No transactions until validated (TDM, Q17). |
| Cayman. | Up to 90 days. | Close the account (DITC Guidelines). |
| Luxembourg. | Up to 90 days. | Close, restrict or block the account (ACD FAQ, Q4.4). |
| Guernsey. | Up to 90 days. | Report the new account under section 171F by day 91 (Bulletin 2021/6). |
Detail, edge cases and sources
For a new account the rule is simple to state. The fund obtains a self-certification at opening and checks it against everything else collected at onboarding, including the KYC file. Revenue cites Sections IV(A) and V(D)(2) of the CRS for this (TDM 38-03-23, Q16). It adds that a GIIN alone does not prove an entity's claim to be a Financial Institution.
The test for reliance is reason to know. A fund has it when its knowledge, including what a relationship manager knows, would make a reasonably prudent person question the claim (DITC Guidelines). In practice the triggers are documentary, and the authorities name them.
| Trigger | Consequence | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| The form claims no tax residence, but the file holds an address. | Get a reasonable explanation and evidence, or a new self-certification. | Jersey notes; DITC Guidelines. |
| An AML refresh produces facts that conflict with the form. | A change in circumstances, so the fund can no longer rely on the form. | DITC Guidelines. |
| Investor claims residence in a high-risk citizenship-by-investment jurisdiction. | Part of the reasonableness test in Ireland. | TDM 38-03-23, Q16. |
| Individual relies on a treaty tie-breaker for dual residence. | From 1 January 2026, re-documented individuals declare every residence. | Jersey notes, 14.4. |
| The form fails the reasonableness test at opening. | Do not open the account in Ireland. | TDM 38-03-23, Q16. |
Validation is often a back-office task that cannot finish on day one. Jersey allows no window: its regulations do not permit day-two procedures, so the form is validated before the account opens (Jersey notes, 14.1). Elsewhere a short window exists, and the domiciles part company on what happens when it closes.
- Ireland: no account opens without a valid self-certification. Where the OECD's day-two process applies, the window cannot exceed 90 days, and no transactions should run meanwhile (TDM 38-03-23, Q17).
- Cayman: obtain and validate within 90 days of opening, or close the account (DITC Guidelines).
- Luxembourg: have procedures to close, restrict or block the account after 90 days, or face the sanctions in Article 3 of the CRS law. Blocking does not cancel a reporting duty already triggered (ACD FAQ, Q4.4).
- Guernsey: a new account still unvalidated after 90 days goes to the Revenue Service under section 171F. It accepts the report by close of business on day 91, or by 31 January where day 91 falls in January. Preexisting accounts follow different timing, and the Revenue Service can order an account frozen (Bulletin 2021/6).
Cayman has also written the content of a valid self-certification into law. From 2026, an individual's form must carry name, address, every tax residence and a TIN for each reportable jurisdiction. It also needs date and place of birth, and a dated signature or attestation (2025 Regulations, regulation 3). A form missing one of those items is not valid.
Practical point. Record the validation date on every self-certification you accept. Luxembourg's tax authority recommends it, with proof of the block or refusal where the 90 days ran out (ACD FAQ, Q4.4). Without a date, the fund cannot show it respected the window.
Missing TIN: what counts as reasonable efforts?
For a preexisting account, the fund need not report a TIN it neither holds nor had to collect. Guernsey's draft notes say it must try yearly to obtain it until the end of the second calendar year after it became reportable (Guernsey draft notes, 11.1). A TIN is not reported where the jurisdiction issues none (Revenue Jersey notes, 13.1).
- Preexisting account: yearly contact by mail, phone, email or in person, plus a search of related-entity data, per Guernsey's draft notes.
- New account: in Luxembourg the issued TIN of a Reportable Jurisdiction resident must be collected (ACD FAQ, Q4.2).
- No TIN issued: not reported, but each domicile codes the gap differently in the XML.
- FATCA: relief for missing US TINs on preexisting accounts runs to calendar year 2027, on conditions (IRS Notice 2024-78).
Detail, edge cases and sources
The answer depends on when the account opened, and a preexisting account is one already open before CRS took effect. The fund need not report its TIN and date of birth if it neither holds them nor had to collect them (Guernsey draft notes, 11.1.2). The fund must still use reasonable efforts to get them by the end of the second calendar year after the account became reportable (TDM 38-03-23, Q5). The amended CRS adds a second trigger: any AML or KYC update of the account (Jersey notes, 13.1).
Guernsey's draft notes give the clearest working definition, drawing on paragraph 28 of the Commentary on Section I. Reasonable efforts are genuine attempts made at least once a year. They include contact by mail, in person, by phone or by email, and a search of data held by a related entity. They do not require closing or blocking the account (Guernsey draft notes, 11.1).
The evidence standard is lighter than many funds assume. For a mail merge, Guernsey's draft notes ask for the template and the data file, not a copy of every letter (Guernsey draft notes). For a new account the position is stricter. In Luxembourg the fund must collect the issued TIN of a Reportable Jurisdiction resident, and for other residents collection is optional (ACD FAQ, Q4.2).
A TIN need not be reported where the jurisdiction issues none, or where its law does not require its collection (Jersey notes, 13.1). The OECD publishes a sheet for each jurisdiction showing whether and how it issues TINs (OECD TIN sheet). Check it before accepting a gap, because the way the gap then appears in the file differs by domicile. That difference catches administrators who file in several places.
| Domicile | Reporting a missing TIN | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Guernsey. | The draft notes say to use "NOTIN" only where no TIN exists, as for Cayman or BVI residents. Where a TIN exists but was not obtained, omit the element. | Guernsey draft notes, 11.1. |
| Luxembourg. | Use the code "#NTA001#" exactly. From 1 January 2026 a TIN is mandatory for new accounts of EU residents, and the code there draws a warning. | ACD FAQ, Q5.7. |
| Jersey. | The schema needs at least one character in the TIN field, even if it holds only a permitted placeholder. | Jersey notes, 13.1. |
| Cayman. | A filed return with a TIN error stays uncorrectable until the fund supplies the TIN. | DITC Guidelines. |
FATCA runs its own missing-TIN regime for US persons. Under IRS Notice 2023-11, a missing US TIN on a preexisting account does not by itself make a Model 1 reporter significantly non-compliant (Notice 2023-11). That relief covered calendar years 2022 to 2024, and Notice 2024-78 extends it to 2025, 2026 and 2027 (Notice 2024-78). The relief applies only in eligible Model 1 jurisdictions and only to preexisting accounts.
The conditions apply to every US reportable account missing a TIN, new accounts included. The fund reports date of birth and an accurate TIN code. It requests the TIN each year in a prescribed form and searches its electronic records each year. It reports any foreign TIN it holds, and puts city and country of residence in the AddressFix element. It keeps the records until the end of 2031 (Notice 2024-78, section 3).
Practical point. One annual TIN campaign can serve both regimes, but only if it meets each regime's terms separately. The FATCA relief prescribes the request's content, the reporting codes and record retention, which go beyond the CRS reasonable-efforts test.
Do you file a nil return?
A nil return tells the tax authority the fund held no reportable accounts in the year. The CRS leaves it to each jurisdiction (Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Appendix I). Luxembourg, Ireland and Cayman require one for CRS, as do Guernsey's draft notes, while Jersey does not. In Cayman the duty extends to funds that failed to launch (DITC Guidelines).
| Domicile | CRS nil return | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | Required. | ACD FAQ, Q5.3. |
| Ireland. | Required. | Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q1. |
| Cayman. | Required, as the Filing Declaration. | DITC Guidelines. |
| Guernsey. | Required, per the draft notes. | Guernsey draft notes, 3.29. |
| Jersey. | Not required, but encouraged. | Revenue Jersey notes, 10. |
Detail, edge cases and sources
It depends on the domicile, and the split is not where most people expect it. A nil return tells the tax authority the fund held no reportable accounts for the year. The CRS leaves it as an option for each jurisdiction (TDM 38-03-23, Appendix I). Four of the five domiciles here have taken it up for CRS, and Jersey is the exception.
| Domicile | CRS nil return | What the authority says | Authority |
|---|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | Required. | A Reporting FI with no reportable accounts files a zero return. The government portal covers FATCA and CRS zero returns alike. | ACD FAQ, Q5.3; Guichet.lu. |
| Ireland. | Required. | Ireland lists nil returns among the CRS options it adopted, and ROS has a nil-return route. | TDM 38-03-23, Q1; TDM 38-03-26, 3.1. |
| Cayman. | Required. | The CRS Filing Declaration counts as the nil return. It applies to every Reporting FI, including funds that failed to launch. | DITC Guidelines. |
| Guernsey. | Required. | The draft notes say nil filing is mandatory under regulation 4(2), not a voluntary step. | Guernsey draft notes, 3.29. |
| Jersey. | Not required. | No obligation at present, but Revenue Jersey highly encourages one. | Jersey notes, 10. |
Luxembourg puts a fixed number on getting this wrong. Failing to file a nil return, or filing it late, costs a fixed fine of €10,000 (Guichet.lu). Further penalties can apply where an audit finds obligations unmet.
Two distinctions save rework. A nil return is not the same as a zero-balance account. Guernsey's draft notes say a reportable account with a nil balance still goes in the XML, and a negative balance counts as nil (Guernsey draft notes, 3.29.2). And in Cayman the Filing Declaration comes after the CRS return, as a summary of every account report filed (DITC Guidelines).
Practical point. Cayman's guidance names the case that slips through: a fund that failed to launch still files. A shelf fund, an unseeded sub-fund or a fund in liquidation has no investor file to prompt the filing. Tracking nil returns from the vehicle list, not the register, closes that gap. Filing dates for every domicile are on the deadline page.
What goes into the CRS return for a fund?
For each Reportable Person the return carries name, address, every tax residence, a TIN for each and, for individuals, date of birth (Revenue Jersey notes, 13.1). For a fund the account is the investor's equity or debt interest. Its value, currency and payments follow specific rules, and from 2026 the record gains new fields (Cayman regulation 19).
- Equity interest: the value calculated for the purpose needing the most frequent valuation (DITC Guidelines).
- Debt interest: the principal amount.
- Payments: total gross amount paid or credited, including redemptions (Revenue Jersey notes, 13.2).
- Closed account: report the closure; Luxembourg also requires a zero balance (ACD FAQ, Q5.9).
- From 2026: account type, new or preexisting, self-certification status, joint holders and controlling-person roles.
Detail, edge cases and sources
The return has two halves: who the reportable person is, and what the account held and paid. For each person the fund reports name, address, every residence, a TIN for each, and date of birth for individuals (Jersey notes, 13.1). Revenue Jersey and Guernsey's draft notes both expect date of birth on the return, because local AML rules require it (Guernsey draft notes, 11.1).
For a fund, the account is the investor's equity or debt interest, and the valuation rules are specific. The table sets out the account-level fields and where each one goes wrong.
| Field | What goes in | Where it goes wrong |
|---|---|---|
| Value of an equity interest. | The value the fund calculates for the purpose needing the most frequent valuation. | Using a statement value when the dealing NAV runs more often. |
| Value of a debt interest. | The principal amount. | Reporting market value or accrued interest instead. |
| Negative balance. | Reported as zero. | Reporting the negative figure. |
| Currency. | The currency of the account, identified in the report. | Converting share-class values into base currency. |
| Joint holders. | Each holder gets the full balance and full payments. | Splitting the balance between holders. |
| Gross amounts paid. | Total gross amount paid or credited, including redemption payments. | Reporting distributions but leaving out redemptions. |
| Closed account. | Report the closure itself. | Missing Luxembourg's rule that the closed flag reads true and the balance reads zero. |
The valuation, currency, joint-holder and closure rules come from the DITC (DITC Guidelines). Revenue Jersey sets out the gross-amount rule for equity and debt interests (Jersey notes, 13.2). Luxembourg's two checks on closed accounts are in the ACD FAQ (Q5.9).
From the 2026 reporting year the account record grows. It now states the account type and whether the account is new or preexisting. It states whether the fund holds a valid self-certification for the holder and for each controlling person. And it flags a joint account and the number of joint holders (Jersey notes, 13.2).
Guernsey's draft notes make the self-certification status mandatory for periods from 1 January 2026, with no "not reported" value allowed. A certification that is missing, incomplete, neither signed nor positively affirmed, incorrect or unreliable must not go in as valid (Guernsey draft notes, 5.14–5.15).
Corrections run through the OECD message types for new, corrected and deleted data. In Cayman a fund can edit a return on the portal until it goes to the exchange partner (DITC Guidelines). After that, a corrected-data or deletion return is the only route.
Practical point. The return covers reportable accounts only, usually a subset of the register. Each field in the table needs a named source system before year end. That is an operational choice, not a rule, but a gap found in June has no time left to close.
What are the penalties for CRS failures?
Each domicile sets its own penalties. Luxembourg and Ireland impose fixed amounts, and Jersey adds per-account penalties for content errors. Guernsey's draft practice uses percentages of balances, and Cayman caps its administrative penalties (Cayman 2025 Regulations, regulation 11). Under FATCA, unresolved significant non-compliance can lead to nonparticipating status after 18 months (Model 1A IGA, Article 5(2)).
| Domicile | Headline penalty |
|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | €10,000 fixed for a missing or late nil return; up to €250,000 for unmet obligations (Guichet.lu). |
| Ireland. | €19,045 for an unexcused failure to file or an incorrect return, plus €2,535 a day outstanding (s.891F(7)). |
| Jersey. | £300, then up to £60 a day after notice; up to £3,000 for knowingly inaccurate information (gov.je). |
| Guernsey, draft. | £300 for late filing; negligence base of 0.5% of each affected balance (draft notes, Appendix 10.6). |
| Cayman. | $50,000 or $20,000 primary penalty, with the total capped at $50,000 from 2026 (regulation 24). |
Detail, edge cases and sources
Each domicile runs its own scale, and the scales differ by an order of magnitude. Luxembourg and Ireland set high fixed amounts, while Jersey and Guernsey's draft practice start from small fixed sums and add per-account or percentage penalties. Cayman caps its administrative penalties. The table gives the headline figures as each authority states them.
| Domicile | Headline CRS penalties | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | A fixed €10,000 for a missing or late nil return. Up to €250,000 where the authority finds obligations were not met. | Guichet.lu. |
| Ireland. | €19,045 for failing without reasonable excuse to file, or for an incorrect or incomplete return, plus €2,535 for each day a return remains outstanding. €1,265 for other breaches. | Part 38 notes, s.891F(7). |
| Jersey. | £300 for failing to comply, then up to £60 a day if the failure continues after notice of that penalty, and up to £3,000 for knowingly inaccurate information. | gov.je penalties page. |
| Guernsey, draft practice. | £300 for late filing, then daily penalties from £50 that can rise to £1,000 after 30 days. The maximum penalty base for negligence is 0.5% of each affected balance, or £1,000 per account where no balance was to be reported. For fraud it is 1% or £5,000. | Guernsey draft notes, Appendix 10.6. |
| Cayman. | A primary penalty of $50,000 for a body corporate or for an individual in an unincorporated Cayman FI, or $20,000 otherwise, then $100 a day while unremedied. From 2026, primary and continuing penalties together stop at $50,000. | CRS Regulations, regulation 24; 2025 Regulations, regulation 11. |
The detail behind the headlines matters more than the size. Jersey's fixed £300 covers late filing and due-diligence failures. Errors in the content of a return attract up to £300 per account, set by a penalty matrix (Jersey notes, 2). Under Guernsey's draft practice the late-filing penalties apply automatically, because a late report is a matter of fact (Guernsey draft notes, Appendix 10.6).
Liability also reaches beyond the fund. Where an Irish investment undertaking is a trust, the liable person is the trustee or the management company acting for it (Part 38 notes, s.891F(7A)). Guernsey's September 2026 draft notes describe regulation 4A, which lets the Director fine an investor up to £10,000 for not providing a valid self-certification (Guernsey draft notes). Cayman makes a materially false self-certification a criminal matter for whoever gives it (DITC Guidelines).
FATCA adds a sanction no local penalty matches. Under the Model 1 agreement, the IRS can notify significant non-compliance to the local authority. If local enforcement has not fixed it after 18 months, the United States treats the institution as nonparticipating (Model 1A IGA, Article 5(2)). That status exposes the fund's US-source income to FATCA withholding.
Practical point. Disclose early where the domicile rewards it. Guernsey weighs whether the fund found and reported the issue itself before using directions, inspectors or freezing orders (Bulletin 2021/6). For low-risk failings it prefers an agreed remediation plan.
What does CRS 2.0 change?
The OECD published amendments to the CRS with the Crypto-Asset Reporting Framework on 8 June 2023 (OECD 2023 standards). In the EU, DAC8 carries them into the directive behind CRS (Revenue Part 38 notes, s.891G). Each domicile applies them from 1 January 2026, so calendar year 2026 is the first year reported under the amended rules.
| Domicile | Start | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | 1 January 2026, under the Law of 27 March 2026. | ACD CRS page. |
| Jersey. | 1 January 2026; 2025 reporting stays on the original CRS. | gov.je. |
| Guernsey. | 1 January 2026, per the draft notes. | Guernsey draft notes. |
| Cayman. | 1 January 2026, regulations 5 and 6 from 1 January 2027. | 2025 Regulations, regulation 1. |
| Ireland. | DAC8 and the 2023 CRS update named as amendments. | Revenue CRS page. |
Detail, edge cases and sources
On 8 June 2023 the OECD published the Crypto-Asset Reporting Framework alongside amendments to the CRS (OECD, 2023 standards). It was the first full review of the standard since 2014, and the market calls the result "CRS 2.0". Inside the EU, Council Directive (EU) 2023/2226, known as DAC8, carries the changes into the directive that runs CRS. Irish law now reads that directive as amended by DAC8 (Part 38 notes, s.891G).
Each domicile states its own start, but all five line up on the 2026 calendar year as the first year reported under the new rules.
| Domicile | What the authority states | Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Luxembourg. | The Law of 27 March 2026 amended the CRS law, with new provisions from 1 January 2026. New filing procedures and the version 3.0 XML schema apply from 1 January 2027. | ACD CRS page; ACD FAQ, Q1.1. |
| Ireland. | Revenue's CRS page refers to DAC8 and the 2023 CRS update as amendments to DAC2 and the CRS. | Revenue CRS page. |
| Jersey. | CRS 2.0 applies from 1 January 2026, and reporting for 2025 stays under the original CRS. | gov.je CRS page. |
| Guernsey. | The draft notes state that the Amended CRS came into force on 1 January 2026, and the first report under it covers the 2026 period. | Guernsey draft notes. |
| Cayman. | The 2025 Amendment Regulations took effect on 1 January 2026, except regulations 5 and 6 from 1 January 2027. The first report covers calendar year 2026. | DITC Quick Guide; 2025 Regulations, regulation 1. |
For a fund, five changes carry the workload.
- New data fields. Account type, new or preexisting status, self-certification status, the joint-holder count and controlling-person roles (DITC Quick Guide).
- A transition window for role data. For reportable accounts held at 31 December 2025, controlling-person and equity-holder roles are needed only where they sit in electronically searchable data. The relief covers reporting periods ending by 31 December 2027, and does not extend to the other new fields (2025 Regulations, Section X(B)).
- Indirect crypto exposure. Interests in investment vehicles and derivatives that give exposure to crypto-assets now fall inside CRS (DITC Quick Guide).
- Dual residence. Re-documented individuals declare every residence instead of relying on a treaty tie-breaker (Jersey notes, 14.4).
- Capital contribution accounts. An account holding capital for a company formation or capital increase falls outside CRS under strict conditions. The law must prescribe its exclusive use, funds stay blocked until independent confirmation, and the account closes or converts afterwards. Repayments go only to contributors, and the account is no more than 12 months old (2025 Regulations, regulation 19).
Cayman also now requires a principal point of contact based in the Islands. A fund registered before 2026 without one must notify the DITC of that person by a set date (DITC Quick Guide, Table C).
Practical point. The self-certification flag changes how gaps surface. For every Reportable Person on a reportable account, the return now states whether a valid self-certification is held. Any legacy backlog on those accounts shows up in the 2026 data unless it is cleared first.
Frequently asked questions
Does an Irish umbrella fund report at umbrella or sub-fund level?
Either, but never both, because reporting at both levels duplicates the data. CRS has no sponsoring-entity regime, so the fund stays responsible even when the filing is outsourced (Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q12).
When does an Irish fund in wind-down stop reporting?
In most circumstances from the date the Central Bank de-authorises it. A sub-fund reporting separately stops when its approval is revoked (Revenue TDM 38-03-23, Q19).
Can a dual-resident investor still rely on a treaty tie-breaker?
Not after 1 January 2026. A re-documented individual declares every jurisdiction of residence, and the account is reportable to each (Revenue Jersey notes, 14.4).
Can a Luxembourg RAIF claim Exempt Collective Investment Vehicle status?
No. Only collective investment undertakings supervised by the CSSF can elect it, and only if they meet the other conditions (ACD FAQ, Q2.4).
In practice: from the 2026 reporting year, each reportable account states whether a valid self-certification is held. Gaps in the investor file now appear in the return itself (Cayman regulation 19).
To verify
- Guernsey figures: the draft Guidance Notes v2 figures await the final version the Revenue Service intends to publish in December 2026.
- Luxembourg percentage fine: whether Article 3 of the Law of 18 December 2015 sets a fine based on unreported amounts needs the text on Legilux.
- Cayman currency: the "$" amounts in the CRS Regulations need their currency confirmed on legislation.gov.ky.
- FATCA nil returns: whether Ireland, Cayman, Jersey and Guernsey require a FATCA nil return needs each authority's FATCA guidance.
- DAC8 dates: the transposition and application dates of Directive (EU) 2023/2226 need the text on EUR-Lex.
- TIN exceptions: whether the CRS also excuses a TIN not issued to a particular person needs the OECD consolidated Commentary on Section I.